The magic of four sentences!

The magic of four sentences!

I love you! Please forgive me! Thank you! I am sorry! 

There is magic in these four sentences and I feel calmer whenever I say or repeat them. What is the secret behind these sentences?

I love you! It is a beautiful thing to say. It sounds gentle and round. It sounds perfect and promising. It sounds wonderful soothing almost like a feather caress our souls. Whenever we hear that someone loves us we feel valued and accepted. Whenever we say it to ourselves we too value our inner self and let the self know that we lovingly accept it.

Please forgive me! Being asked for forgiveness is a powerful act as we understand that the other person must have realised their mistakes. And yet we might not even give in as we still feel to hurt from what has happened. But this pain will only bother us not the others. Its flame will only being fed by our own reminders. Asking for forgiveness helps us not only to forgive others, it also helps to forgive ourselves for encouraging the pain again and again. Whenever we say please forgive me to ourselves we ask our soul for forgiveness as we realise that we have neglected it.

Thank you! To acknowledge all the beauty in our lives, the people who have accompanied us on our journeys, and the things that make our lives so much easier will have a great effect on us. In being grateful we recognise how rich and wonderful our lives already are. We recognise the good things in situations and events, we  notice how far we have come in our lives, and we too diminish all the negative attributes around us. Whenever we say thank you to ourselves we build up on our confidence and on our strength to be true to who we truly are.

I am sorry! When someone tells us that they are sorry we feel with them as they went this little bit further along the way of accepting the fact that they have hurt us. To be sorry is also to be compassionate and supportive to someone close. Whenever we say I am sorry to ourselves we also accept that we have been hurting ourselves as well as a readiness to take the next steps in healing our relationship with our inner self.

When I first came across these four sentences by Dr.Joe Vitale I thought I would give it a try and in all situations that made me feel upset, overwhelmed, or lost I’d repeated  silently these four sentences over and over. And it miraculously worked for me. I calmed down, people who annoyed me left before I had to say something, things disappeared that started to make me feel upset, I felt stronger within myself and soon I started even to get what I always wanted.

These sentences have magical power as they promote self-love and self acceptance. There is no secret behind it. When we love and accept ourselves, our lives will reflect love and acceptance! Isn’t that what we want?

by Sandy Seeber – December, 2011

About Sandy Seeber-Quayle

Sandy Seeber-Quayle develops middle managers to get better results by creating effective thinking habits. Diplomas in Organizational Behaviour, Coaching, and Training mirror her lifelong passion for human behaviour and effective communication. Sandy is also a practitioner at heart who has created effective results for over 20 years while coaching sales teams at Apple, training managers at Aegon and managing the operations and the business development of a multi-million policy portfolio at CNP Santander Insurance. When she is not working with people, Sandy enjoys the outdoors, photography, and creative writing.
This entry was posted in Coaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment