What you might have missed

What you might have missed

I am not, who you think you are!

When I woke up this morning this sentence popped into my head and I wondered what it means. Maybe you too, wonder. Let me bring some clarity around this phrase. Of course this will be only my perspective as I am not, who you think you are.

You perceive your world according to your experiences, bringing up, your education and of course to your environment. What you know is true to you is what you hold to be true in general. This is an important part of humanity because it helps us to remain individuals. Let me put this into an example.

At the moment the news report about an ongoing financial crisis, about an uncertain economy, and many other dreadful outlooks for the very near future. That can be scary information especially if you have had bad experiences already. You might fear for your job, your income, or your savings. On the other hand you might find many opportunities to be innovative or to use that time of impermanence as you had great experiences with looking out for chances while something stopped working the way it always did. That way you get exactly the job you were looking for or a simple idea of yours becomes the most thought after solution. And there are many more perspectives you can find around the same topic.

Now back to the phrase above. As long as you accept that people have different perceptions and opinions you won’t need to think too much about it. But in case you think  that your common sense applies to the rest of the world than you might take it a bit too far. Why is that?

Everybody has a different perception, a different life with different experiences, and certainly different opinions. Certain ideas match with ideas from other people and other opinions of yours may cause conflicts while communicating them to your circles. You might think why can’t they understand that I am right here. You might try to convince them with evidence based on your experiences and still people seem not to agree. But it is not about you being wrong. The truth is that they just have had different experiences that have provided them with different insights. So it is understandable that they feel reluctant to agree to your opinion.

I am not, who you think you are; is a reminder that you are a unique individual on your own path through life. You might resist that path in times, you might not always accept what happens to you, but you still are who you are and no matter how much you try to change who you are, you certainly won’t be able to change me.

by Sandy Seeber – July, 2012 More articles by Sandy Seeber

About sandyseeber

Sandy Seeber left behind all that she knew, travelled around the world and found her key to happiness. Sandy envisions a world full of happy, healthy, and wealthy people. Through her creative writing in particular she aims to make a difference in the world by taking her readers onto a journey of an unforgettable experience. In summer 2013, Sandy has published her first novel titled 'The perspective of things - An unusual friendship' for children and adults in German. Today she is living and working in Dublin, Ireland.
Aside | This entry was posted in Coaching, Inner Self & Soul Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What you might have missed

  1. nishanil says:

    The way we imagine ourselves to appear to another person is an essential element in our conception of ourselves. In other words, I am not what I think I am, and I am not what you think I am. I am what I think you think I am.

    You might only be thinking what you think I am thinking instead of thinking what I think you think I am thinking…

    Like

  2. Pingback: What you might have missed | unityinhealing

  3. Thank you for using my post as a resource for your post which is very inspiring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

