How You Move Beyond Obstacles

How You Move Beyond Obstacles

“Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off the goal.” Hannah More (1745-1833) English writer

The other day I was looking back over my life so far. There has been many challenges, lots of obstacles, great successes, and some patterns that seemed to have been very sticky in times. But I also remembered a fair number of obstacles I had overcome in a very short period of time. I wondered how did I do it and what was the secret of moving forward.

Back then I didn’t have the knowledge about the power of our subconscious mind. Back then I didn’t know that self-limiting beliefs could hold me back. I didn’t even know that there was a perspective of the world other than the one I was taught while growing up. How could I possibly be able to overcome obstacles?

It struck me when I suddenly realised how easy it is to get to the other side. Why didn’t I think of it earlier? That is so trivial and clear. Here is what I realised and how you can use it to overcome the greatest challenges in your life:

An obstacle stands between you and some place, some time, or some condition you desire, let’s call this your goal. To reach that goal and to overcome obstacles in your way you need to have a value in the goal that is stronger than the value that holds you back in your present situation. What is this mean?

Let’s give you an idea with an experience I had.

When I was 18, I started an apprenticeship for an insurance company. Even though I was pretty excited about this great opportunity, I felt misplaced and had great difficulties with the woman I was reporting to. I a kind of liked the office and the people there, but I wasn’t so sure how I ever would fit in. I wasn’t focussed either and I made mistakes I wasn’t aware of. After about six month the situation escalated. After a huge and for me humiliating argument in the midst of everyone, I went home and cried. I felt so hurt, that I didn’t want to go back ever again. Until this point I hadn’t committed to my job and I only would find reasons why I would never fit in neither.

When I was sobbing I knew that I had to make a decision whether I want to proceed with this apprenticeship or not. But as I grew up in East Germany and economic situation wasn’t as great in the mid nineties, I felt I didn’t have a choice other than accepting this job as an opportunity rather than a struggle.

I found a strong value in making this work, in making sure not to lose my job. I got myself back together and started focussing on what I want to achieve and how this apprenticeship  can be a crutch rather than an obstacle.

I stayed in that company for more than eleven years. I became a sales manager in the very same office and I also became the one new apprentices would report to.

This is only one of my experiences in overcoming obstacles and I am sure you will find some in your life too. So I encourage you to figure out what it is that you truly desire and how you can change your focus towards your goals rather than accepting the limitations that are around you!

Whenever you feel there is something holding you back ask yourself following questions:

  • How much do I want to achieve my goal, satisfy my need, or fulfil my desire?
  • What am I prepared to do for it?
  • What are the steps I will need to take to get what I want?

These questions will help you to determine how strongly you value your goal and how important it is for you not moving at all.

Obstacles are only as big and invincible as you make them and the easiest way around is to focus on the goal ahead!

How did you overcome obstacles in the past and what are the ones that stand in your way at this moment? Please let me know and I am also happy for you sharing this article in your circles.

by Sandy Seeber  – March, 2012 More articles by Sandy Seeber

 Related articles

About sandyseeber

Sandy Seeber left behind all that she knew, travelled around the world and found her key to happiness. Sandy envisions a world full of happy, healthy, and wealthy people. Through her creative writing in particular she aims to make a difference in the world by taking her readers onto a journey of an unforgettable experience. In summer 2013, Sandy has published her first novel titled 'The perspective of things - An unusual friendship' for children and adults in German. Today she is living and working in Dublin, Ireland.
Aside | This entry was posted in Coaching, Inner Self & Soul Journey, Jobs, Career, Business and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How You Move Beyond Obstacles

  1. Pingback: Realising Your Goals « Martin Webster, Esq.

  2. jeromymanke says:

    Finding the drive to move you towards the desired end is so essential! It is so much easier to remain content in your present situation and allow the obstacles to become excuses. I agree with the need to keep your focus, and think that an important part of that is having a plan to reach the goal.

    http://www.positivitysquared.wordpress.com

    Like

    • sandyseeber says:

      I agree, a plan is important to work towards your goal. I remember giving a talk to a group of students and ask them what they would do to organise a party coming Saturday and of course they would start brainstorming to figure out how to make this party work. Finding something in your life that you have achieved already can help you to find the steps towards the goal your are pursuing right now.

      Like

  3. Jay Rando says:

    It is funny how we do not know about the subconscious when we are younger yet it was there all along. I used to suffer from depression about 18 years of age and did many things that could be considered a waste of time but when i really started to make an effort with my life things changed. I created my goals, found my hobbies and lastly discovered my real passion. With this i had more drive and more charisma and the best part is that people can sense it within me. I feel great about what i can offer the world now, i never stray or let distractions pull me away from my goals anymore. I focus to get all those things done which seemed out of reach before. Great post Sandy 🙂

    Like

    • sandyseeber says:

      Thank you Ray. It’s often just a coin flip that can change our lives forever. It’s about choice in some way whether we suffer and remain in an illusionary state of comfort or break free and take the step into our own responsibility of how things go and reach the place where our dreams are born. 🙂

      Like

  4. David Eric Cummins says:

    Hi, Sandy,
    I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award in my post http://davidericcummins.wordpress.com/2012/03/17/thank-you/
    Congratulations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

