The Secret Ingredient

The Secret Ingredient – An Important Part of the Recipe of Life!

Kung Fu Panda (2008)
Mr. Ping: The secret ingredient is… nothing!Po: Huh? 
Mr. Ping: You heard me. Nothing! There is no secret ingredient. 
Po: Wait, wait… it’s just plain old noodle soup? You don’t add some kind of special sauce or something? 
Mr. Ping: Don’t have to. To make something special you just have to believe it’s special. 
[Po looks at the scroll again, and sees his reflection in it] 
Po: There is no secret ingredient… 
 

Last weekend I happened to watch Kung Fu Panda, a story about a Panda that became the dragon warrior. It was a very enjoyable movie and it was filled with lots of wisdom. The part with the secret ingredient really got me and I was wondering what value a secret ingredient really can have.

Let me tell you a little story:

Once I went to Cozumel, an island just off the coast of Playa del Carmen in Mexico. Somehow I promised myself a paradise. By then I have been to the most beautiful places all over and I expected a lot. The realisation came when I got off the ferry. It didn’t look any different from the place I just came from. I wondered what makes this island so much fun to other people. After a couple of days I left Cozumel, disappointed and disillusioned about a Caribbean paradise I thought to find. What secret ingredient have I missed to discover?

Now years later I have realised it isn’t a place that becomes a paradise. It isn’t the people either that makes it happen. It is what paradise mean to me and what I expect to be a paradise. But my perspective of this beautiful word “paradise” would also limit myself to only a fraction of a possible paradise lying in front of me. Going back to my story about Cozumel, back then I would rather discard this island as paradise than looking for the potential to see it as such.

Obviously there are many people who do love this place. So I did have value in looking for a secret ingredient, the ingredient for seeing this place as a paradise. But as long as I believe there is a special ingredient I wouldn’t have to change my perspective. I would have something else to blame, something I didn’t know, something I didn’t have, something that isn’t in my control.

The truth is though, I am in control. I do have everything. I do know all I need to know. There aren’t any secret ingredients. There aren’t any external conditions that stop me from being in a paradise. There aren’t any people who stop me from being who I am.

The only person really, that does create barriers, hides from having the greatest joy, and does look for secrets all the time, is me. This time I take responsibility. This time I make sure I am in paradise! And just in case I can’t see it anymore, I am going to shift my perspective slightly to adjust myself to the paradise around me.

“As long as you focus on your struggles you miss out on the pleasures in between!” [Sandy Seeber]

by Sandy Seeber – April, 2012 More articles by Sandy Seeber
 
 
 
 
About sandyseeber

Sandy Seeber left behind all that she knew, travelled around the world and found her key to happiness. Sandy envisions a world full of happy, healthy, and wealthy people. Through her creative writing in particular she aims to make a difference in the world by taking her readers onto a journey of an unforgettable experience. In summer 2013, Sandy has published her first novel titled 'The perspective of things - An unusual friendship' for children and adults in German. Today she is living and working in Dublin, Ireland.
Aside | This entry was posted in Coaching, Inner Self & Soul Journey, Inspirational Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

